top of page
Search
  • ~Morgan

At What Age Should You Start Piano Lessons?

Updated: Feb 20, 2021

A question I often receive is, "What is a good age to start piano lessons?" This question can have multiple answers and different approaches. But in this post, I'll be sharing some thoughts on when the best time is to start piano lessons.



Piano Lessons and Music Skills

Should you start younger students, age 5-7, or wait until they are older? The younger age is the perfect time to give students a love for music, which can later transfer to more technical piano skills. However, the older age (8 and up) is ideal for a more rapid progression of musical concepts. Here are some thoughts on each approach.


What's the Best Age to Start Piano Lessons?

Is 5 or 6 too young? I would answer this with another question: is your student excited about learning piano? A lot depends on this! A student's interest is the best asset to figuring out a good starting time. My mom let me ask for lessons for an entire year when I was 7 before starting me at 8. I would sit at the piano and try to make songs up before ever beginning lessons! I always encourage parents to be involved during lesson and practice time if their student is between the ages of 5 and 7 and welcome them to sit in on our lessons.


Piano Lessons for the Older Beginner

What are the benefits of taking piano lessons at an older age, around 8-12? At this age, the student will grasp the more technical concepts much more quickly. This allows lessons to go at a more accelerated pace as we begin to learn sheet music. (I started lessons when I was 8 and participated in general group music classes from the ages of 4-7.)


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page